top of page

How to Build Relationships (Sacral Chakra)

Updated: Mar 7, 2021

It can be a challenge to build meaningful relationships, especially with COVID that has created isolation and separation between us. You may feel lonely and withdrawn, disconnected from yourself and others. One of the best ways to help reconnect and strengthen your relationships is by opening the sacral chakra. You may not have heard of chakras and might be asking, "what are those?"

The chakras were first discovered in India thousands of years ago. The word chakra in Sanskrit essentially means “spinning disc”. Chakras are energy wheels within your body. There are seven main chakras: root chakra, sacral chakra, solar plexus charka, heart chakra, throat chakra, third eye chakra, and the crown chakra. They are separate yet connected to the physical and energetic body. These spinning discs support and process energy that flow through you.

Each chakra is associated with different aspects of your life and self, they keep us in balance and aligned. When a chakra is blocked and there are many reasons why a chakra can be blocked, these discs are no long spinning at a healthy capacity. Below gives you a better understanding of the sacral chakra, what it looks like when it is blocked and how to connect with others and yourself.

Sacral Chakra (Svadhisthana)

Meaning: “Dwelling Place of the Self”

Colour: Orange

Symbol: Moon