top of page

How to Communicate and Speak Your Truth (Throat Chakra)

Updated: Mar 6, 2021

Communication is key in all aspects of our life. When we are speaking our truth, we are stepping into our authentic self. Our lives start to become more aligned and connected with those around us. When we are able to communicate openly and clearly, we can inspire others and create stronger relationships built on open communication and respect. One of the best ways to start building this skill is by opening the throat chakra. You maybe wondering, "What's a chakra?"

The chakras were first discovered in India thousands of years ago. The word chakra in Sanskrit essentially means “spinning disc”. Chakras are energy wheels within your body. There are seven main chakras: root chakra, sacral chakra, solar plexus charka, heart chakra, throat chakra, third eye chakra, and the crown chakra. They are separate yet connected to the physical and energetic body. These spinning discs support and process energy that flow through you.

Each chakra is associated with different aspects of your life and self, they keep us in balance and aligned. When a chakra is blocked and there are many reasons why a chakra can be blocked, these discs are no long spinning at a healthy capacity. Below gives you a better understanding of the throat chakra, what it looks like when it is blocked and how to open it and start speaking your truth.

Throat Chakra (Vishuddha)

Meaning: Purity

Colour: Light blue

Symbol: Expression and Communication

Element: Ether

Energy Type: Masculine

Animal: White Elephant